RESOLUTION No. 17

Recognition of the Contagious Bovine Pleuropneumonia Status of Members

CONSIDERING THAT

- 1. During the 71st General Session, the OIE World Assembly of Delegates (the Assembly) established a procedure for annually updating a List of Members and zones, recognised as free from contagious bovine pleuropneumonia (CBPP) according to the provisions of the Terrestrial Animal Health Code (Terrestrial Code),
- 2. During the 83rd General Session, the Assembly adopted Resolution No. 15, which specified and updated the procedure for Members to follow to achieve official recognition and maintenance of status for certain diseases, including CBPP,
- 3. During the 83rd General Session, the Assembly adopted Resolution No. 16, which specified and updated the financial implications for Members applying for evaluation of official recognition of disease status to meet part of the costs defrayed by the OIE in the evaluation process,
- 4. During the 79th General Session, the Assembly noted that an explanatory document outlining the standard operating procedures for official disease status evaluations had been compiled by the OIE Headquarters for the benefit of Members,
- 5. During the 85th General Session, the Assembly noted a complete revision of the standard operating procedures providing further details on the process of official status recognition. The document has been published on the OIE website,
- 6. During the 86th General Session, the Assembly noted an explanatory document outlining the standard operating procedure for official recognition of disease status of non-contiguous territories as part of a country already having an OIE official disease status. The document has been published on the OIE website,
- 7. Information published by the OIE is derived from declarations made by the OIE Delegates of Members. The OIE is not responsible for publication and maintenance of countries' or zonal disease free status based on inaccurate information or untimely reporting to the OIE Headquarters of changes in epidemiological status or other significant events subsequent to the time of declaration of freedom from CBPP,

THE ASSEMBLY

RESOLVES THAT

1. The Director General publish the following List of Members recognised as CBPP free according to the provisions of Chapter 11.5. of the *Terrestrial Code*:

Canada New Caledonia United States of America

China (People's Rep. of) Peru Uruguay

2. The Director General publish the following List of Members having a CBPP free zone³⁶ according to the provisions of Chapter 11.5. of the *Terrestrial Code*:

Namibia: one zone located south to the Veterinary Cordon Fence, designated by the

Delegate of Namibia in a document addressed to the Director General in

October 2015.

AND

3. The Delegates of these Members shall immediately notify the OIE Headquarters if CBPP occurs in their countries or free zone within their territories.

(Adopted by the World Assembly of Delegates of the OIE on 28 May 2019 in view of an entry into force on 31 May 2019)

³⁴ Including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte and Réunion.

³⁵ Including Azores and Madeira.

³⁶ For detailed information on the delimitation of the zone of the Member recognised as CBPP free, enquiries should be addressed to the Director General of the OIE.