RESOLUTION No. 20

Recognition of the African Horse Sickness Status of Members

CONSIDERING THAT

- 1. During the 80th General Session, the OIE World Assembly of Delegates (the Assembly) adopted Resolution No. 19, which amended the chapter of the *Terrestrial Animal Health Code* (*Terrestrial Code*) on African horse sickness (AHS). These standards provide a pathway for Members or zones to be recognised by the OIE as free from AHS,
- 2. During the 83rd General Session, the Assembly adopted Resolution No. 15, which specified and updated the procedure for Members to follow to achieve official recognition and maintenance of status for certain animal diseases, including AHS,
- 3. During the 83rd General Session, the Assembly adopted Resolution No. 16, which specified and updated the financial implications for Members applying for evaluation of official recognition of disease status to meet part of the costs defrayed by the OIE in the evaluation process,
- 4. During the 79th General Session, the Assembly noted that an explanatory document outlining the standard operating procedures for official disease status evaluations had been compiled by the OIE Headquarters for the benefit of Members,
- 5. During the 85th General Session, the Assembly noted a complete revision of the standard operating procedures providing further details on the process of official status recognition. The document has been published on the OIE website,
- 6. During the 86th General Session, the Assembly noted an explanatory document outlining the standard operating procedure for official recognition of disease status of non-contiguous territories as part of a country already having an OIE official disease status. The document has been published on the OIE website,
- 7. Information published by the OIE is derived from declarations made by the OIE Delegates of Members. The OIE is not responsible for publication and maintenance of countries' or zonal disease free status based on inaccurate information or untimely reporting to the OIE Headquarters of changes in epidemiological status or other significant events subsequent to the time of declaration of freedom from AHS,

THE ASSEMBLY

RESOLVES THAT

1. The Director General publish the following List of Members recognised as AHS free according to the provisions of Chapter 12.1. of the *Terrestrial Code*:

Algeria Czech Republic Liechtenstein Qatar Andorra Denmark Lithuania Romania Luxembourg Argentina Ecuador Singapore Australia Estonia Malaysia Slovakia $Finland^{43}$ Slovenia Austria Malta Azerbaijan Mexico Spain⁴⁶ $France^{44}$ Belgium Morocco Sweden Germany Bolivia New Caledonia Greece Switzerland Bosnia and Herzegovina New Zealand Thailand Hungary Brazil North Macedonia The Netherlands Iceland Bulgaria Norway Tunisia India Canada Oman Turkey Ireland Chile Paraguay United Arab Emirates Italy China (People's Rep. Peru United Kingdom⁴⁷ Japan of) 42 Philippines United States of Kazakhstan Chinese Taipei Poland Korea (Rep. of) $\rm America^{48}$ Colombia Portugal⁴⁵ Kuwait Uruguay Croatia Latvia

AND

Cyprus

2. The Delegates of these Members shall immediately notify the OIE Headquarters if AHS occurs in their countries or their territories.

(Adopted by the World Assembly of Delegates of the OIE on 28 May 2019 in view of an entry into force on 31 May 2019)

⁴³ Including Åland Islands.

⁴⁵ Including Azores and Madeira.

46 Including Balearic Islands and Canary Islands.

⁻

⁴² Including Hong Kong and Macau.

⁴⁴ Including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion, Saint Barthélémy, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon.

⁴⁷ Including Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Guernsey (incl. Alderney and Sark), Isle of Man, Jersey and Saint Helena.

 $^{^{48}}$ Including American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and US Virgin Islands.